• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphone Amp: Harsh vs Smooth

Blur

Forum Donor
I've been listening and comparing headphone gear for over 20 years now and want to see if any of you have the same experience as I.

The Gear:
Schiit Magni 3
SMSL SP200 THX ( Using the single ended inputs and output )
Headphone: Aeon Flow Open ( 2 notch filters )

With the Magni 3 I notice immediate relief from harshness that I find in the SP200. This includes all of my standard hi-fi test tracks that I have spent months making into a playlist for review. If I swap back to the SP200 ( low gain ) I immediately feel the sensation of harshness and my ears start to need a break. It's a subtle pain in my ear and most indicative of ear fatigue when the bones in your ear have had enough and there is muscle strain. I swap immediately back to the Magni 3 and it's like my ears just took a Tylenol. The harshness is gone.

Things to note:
I still need to dig out my SPL meter so I can match the listening levels as it may be simply a loudness issue. I did try to match the loudness by ear, but due to the massive gain ( even in low gain on the SP200 ) it is easy to get very loud quickly.

Have any of you had a similar experience? Any ideas as to what is causing it? Usually it is caused by treble peaks and I eliminate it by changing the angle of the headphone driver. With amps I'm really not sure what the cause is, but it can be painful so I'm trying to understand the source.

OP
Blur

Blur

Forum Donor
Can different amps create different pressure levels on the same headphone, but still have the same output voltage to the headphone?

OP
Blur

Blur

Forum Donor