• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Genelec Ones setup questions

justAlistener

Forum Donor
Hi all. I decided to finally bite the bullet and buy a pair of Genelec the ones. I am confused about what is the best way to connect them however. I am new to these so please bear with me.

I want to be able to a) use them as computer speakers for macbook and b) be able to stream and/or airplay music to them when my computer is not connected.

I understand that Genelecs accept AES/EBU or Balanced line in. I see people mention AES/EBU route is better since there wont be a ADC. That makes sense, but I haven't seen any info on how noticeable this is. Is this something I should care about?

I believe for the digital route, I can use something like Douk Audio U2 or this . This is the part I'm most confused: But this means I have to use the GLM software to control the volume? Or buy the knob. Both requiring me to have the Spekers and the GLM hub connecting all times( not ideal due to cable mess, but not the end of the world) And I have to figure something else out for streaming.

So instead buy adi 2 pro fs be (or any other recomendations you have) and use a breakout cable. So I can connect multiple devices in, and have volume control on AES somehow? Im not exactly sure. aNd even if it has volume control, I think it cant be controlled by a stremer like the WiiM Pro

Or I can just let the digital input go and use the excellently reviewed The D70 Pro SABRE as a combined PC DAC and a wireless streamer and call it a day. This sounds alot simpler and less messiy then the options above. Any downsides Im missing?

So to summarize, my questions are:

1) How important is using the digital input of the speakers?