• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Conducting Audio Research on High School Students?

nerdemoji

Hello guys. I am actually a high schools student and I have a class where we will conduct research over the course of the school year on a topic of our choice. This means that I can conduct a study with high schools students as the subject of this study. The reason I am posting this here is because I am exploring the possibility of researching something about audio science. If I can't come up with a good and teacher approved research question, that is fine because I have already wrote a research paper on the side about Robotic Automation, so I will have minimal work to do if this doesn't work out.

I am wondering if any of you guys have any interesting ideas for what I might be able to do research on.

Limitations:
I won't have access to any advanced equipment as far as I know. I will have headphones with a transparent signal path, and any software on a computer as long as it isn't too expensive. I might be able to contact people in the region to gain access to more advanced equipment, but I don't know if this is a reliable option right now. I am also willing to spend some extra money (probably no more than 100 USD) if it means I can have a more interesting experiment.

I need to buy a membership to AES to conduct some preliminary credible research literature reviews to back up and explain my research. (I think it is 50 dollars for students)

Sample is high school students at a public school. The shorter the time they need to spend as a subject the better, otherwise that sample size of people willing to participate will be small, making my research fundamentally flawed.