• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Complete Newbie to miniDSP - Basics help needed

Acerun

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I apologize in advance. I've recently gotten back into audio after a long hiatus and I'm making nice advancements but also swimming a bit in places.

It sounds like everyone runs some sort of room EQ software and miniDSP UMIK-1 seems very popular. Here are my STUPID questions as I just can't figure it out.

1. Do you run the software plugged into a receiver via HDMI (I am running a mixed use 5.1 system with a Sony STR-5400ES receiver) and then the software lets you know the SPL and/or EQ settings that you should adjust on the receiver?

2. Or is it that you run the software and then use something like a miniDSP 2x4 HD to hold the EQ settings outside of the receiver...as in L/C/R/Surround/Sub pre outs to miniDSP 2x4 HD to amplifiers?

3. If you do need to use something like a miniDSP 2x4 HD how many of those units do you need to power 5.1? (I actually run two subs, splitting the signal so 5.2?)

I know there are a lot of experienced audiophiles here so sorry to dumb down this little alcove of the board with my cluelessness. Thank you in advance for any guidance.

OP
Acerun

Acerun

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Sounds like I might be able to adjust via EQ, but most use DSP hardware?

abdo123

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Hey!

The miniDSP 2*4 HD’s input is stereo, the additional outputs are for speaker crossover in the digital domain.

So they would work for something like stereo + subwoofer. But not for multichannel input.

For multichannel you need a multichannel DAC + multichannel MiniDSP.