• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Benefit of adding amp

harleydave

I recently bought a Yamaha Aventage AVR RX-A2A Is it worth adding an amp to it? Pros/Cons. My speakers are all Klipsch. Or would I gain more benefit by getting a better Sub.

Bookshelf RP-600mii
Center RP- 504cii
Surround RP-402s
Sub R-121sw

OP
H

harleydave

Erin reviewed your speakers and has some advice to get the best out of them. A free upgrade!
Thanks for the link much appreciated. I'm a newbie so this is probably a stupid question but,
"I recommend turning the speaker about 20° out (facing out into the room)"
Does that mean toeing out instead of in?
Thanks in advance.

D

Deleted member 21114

"I recommend turning the speaker about 20° out (facing out into the room)"
Does that mean toeing out instead of in?
You are correct.
1000001960.jpg
1000001961.jpg

The orange 20° degree line is smoother without the pronounced hump of the 0°(straight at you) and 10° line.

D

Deleted member 21114

As for the sub- measure the room with a mic and REW and see what the results are. If you haven't EQ'd the sub there are massive gains to be made.
As for the amp- you only need an external amp if your receiver is not able to keep up. Is it clipping? Is it getting too hot?

delta76

Major Contributor
I recently bought a Yamaha Aventage AVR RX-A2A Is it worth adding an amp to it? Pros/Cons. My speakers are all Klipsch. Or would I gain more benefit by getting a better Sub.

Bookshelf RP-600mii
Center RP- 504cii
Surround RP-402s
Sub R-121sw
Not worth it. sub is active already (so no need for external amp). Klipsch speakers generally are very efficient so they will not need a lot power power to sound very loud.