• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Probably a dumb question

harleydave

I'm relatively new to all this so I apologize in advance for what might be a stupid question to a lot of you. I think I'm going to order a mic and try my hand at REW. I have a Yamaha Aventage RX-A2A, and all klipsch rp speakers. Do I need a minidsp also? Can I do correction with REW or do I need something else? I've watched some videos and read some information, confusion set in and it's all out of my wheelhouse presently. I'm really good at installing handlebars, heated grips, exhaust/tune, accessories on motorcycles, this stuff, not so much.

rolfrander

Forum Donor
No, you don't need a minidsp to get value from REW and a mic. You can achieve a lot by experimenting with moving speakers and furniture around and applying different sorts of damping to hard surfaces, using REW to assess the results.

staticV3

Master Contributor
@harleydave Your RX-A2A actually has Room Correction built-in, which Yamaha calls "YPAO".
Unfortunately, this only works with Yamaha's own YPAO microphone.

So you'd have to decide between this YPAO mic with limited functionality, or something more versatile like the UMIK-1.

@OCA Do you know if it's possible to manually configure YPAO like you can with Audyssey?

droid2000