• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

BENCHMARK AHB2 vs Burson Timekeeper 3X GT

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
One is among the highest fidelity power amps you could own. It is a basic power amp.

The other is more of a DAC/integrated amp.

Add a DAC/pre/streamer or whatever you need with the thousand dollars saved and you could have a near SOTA system. The other, I don't know, you'd have something different.

beeface

dont understand the reactive comments?
Sorry Im a newbie
ignore all the smart asses

I have no doubt that there are people on other forums who have changed from the Benchmark unit to the Burson and called it an improvement

The reality is that subjectivists will sometimes downgrade their gear and call it an upgrade, citing various reasons such as "warmth", "musicality", etc.

None of these people have done a blind comparison of the amps. The reason they prefer the Burson could be as simple as a difference of input gain, and they're confusing louder for better. It could be placebo, who knows.

These are the facts: the AHB2 is a state of the art class AB amp, the Burson definitely is not.

Rja4000

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
dont understand the reactive comments?
Sorry Im a newbie
We don't have any measurements of the second, so we may hardly comment.
Provide one for measurement, and we can speak.

The only think we have to judge is a laconic spec
(THD <0.03% @1kHz, without any more details), which translates in <70dB SINAD (since THD is already -70dB), which is very poor in our books.

The flourish littérature and poetic review doesn't add confidence towards a good result.
The rare insights on the build of the amp don't help either.