• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Android phone and headphone recommendations for commuter rail

CT Man

My primary use for music and podcast listening with headphones is riding for 2 hours on commuter rail. I listen mostly to classical, opera and jazz. It’s important for me to hear the details of quiet orchestral passages without peak sections playing at a level that damages my hearing. I'm not very technical, so I value simplicity in my setup.

I’ve been quite pleased with my LG G7 combined with Etymotic ER4SR IEMs. The noise isolation of the foam ear tips is superb. The sounds of the train whistle, PA announcements, beeping door-closing alarms, etc. are pushed far into the background. I don’t have much basis for comparison, but the sound quality seems quite good to me, which is no easy feat for the subtleties of my musical sources. I can hear details of the full dynamic range at a moderate volume. The only downside is the hassle of insertion and removal using foam ear tips and the wire tangle.

However, the LG G7 is now an orphan. It’s running Android 9 and there have been no security patches since February 2020. For Android, it looks like my best choices are either Samsung or Google phones. Manufacturers have abandoned the idea of high-quality sound from 3.5mm jacks. I don't care much about camera quality and all the bells and whistles of flagship phones, but I do value a phone with a long lifespan and regular system updates.