• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

AKM top chip Hump?

JJFUSA

I think it's quite entertaining for every audiophile to compare two highest level ESS and AKM chips, especially when implemented in the same DAC model:

SMSL D400 ES - ES9039:

SMSL D400 EX - AK4499:

Apex of the pure sound performance, I would say.

But it's quite interesting to observe a famous hump on the AKM chip now:

I'm not a sound expert by all means, yet after the ESS hump fuss (there is no more hump on new ESS chips like ES9038Q2M for example as far as I know) it's kinda weird to see a top AKM chip behave like this, or am I missing something here?

Hemi-Demon

It's a engineering error. The Gustard A26 does NOT have this issue.

SMSL and Topping will fix the issue at some point. Both companies have more pressing quality control issues to fix in my opinion.

OP
J

JJFUSA

It's a engineering error. The Gustard A26 does NOT have this issue.

SMSL and Topping will fix the issue at some point. Both companies have more pressing quality control issues to fix in my opinion.
Strange that companies let that happened, especially in the top tier models.

Comparing ESS and AKM:

Single ES9039:

Dual AK4499:

Seems ESS still performs much better.

What the point to use AKM then?

unpluggged

there is no more hump on new ESS chips like ES9038Q2M
On the contrary, the Q2M was actually infamous for the hump. See, for example, Khadas Tone Board measurements.

OP
J

JJFUSA

Unless the hump comes from the I/V circuit and not from the DAC...
SMSL use identical components in both versions of D400.

D400 ES (ES9039):

D400 EX (AK4499):

I guess it means that only chip itself (AK4499) is responsible for the hump.

boXem

Major Contributor
Audio Company