• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

A question may involve reverse engineering of sounds.

TuneInSoul

I am not an expert and don't know how to describe this appropriately.
For example,If I EQ a sound,this can change frequency response and distortion of sounds.
Let's consider this,if I just have two or more sound samples which are results of an EQ effect,we can call them altered samples,and an original sound sample.But I don't know the sound effects the altered samples used.I just know the frequency response and the distortion of the altered samples.And I have some information about altered samples,like some values of the effects used in altered samples.
For example,
Sample 1 : value1=1
Sample 2 : value1=2
Sample 3 : value1=5
The question is:
If there is just one effect used in altered samples and the author of altered samples want to change ony one "dimension" of sound ,but it has caused two or more "dimensions" of sound varied,is there a way to know what the author want to change?

Last edited:

GXAlan

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Long and short answer.

Short answer. Yes.

Longer answer:

If I understand you correctly, what you are looking to explain is the idea of a transfer function. You know what the recording is and you know what the output is from a system, whether it is non-linear electrical or non-linear acoustic/mechanical.

At this point it’s all math and you can create an equation that replicates the transfer function for a given parameter set.

In graphics, you can have matrix LUTs to translate colors. For audio, you have digital pianos, virtual tube amplifiers, and various plugins, etc.

Doing this is sort of what advanced room correction does.
Doing this as a hobbyist is very complex…