• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Master Thread: Are measurements Everything or Nothing?

USER

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
My audio friends and I have been blind-testing each other for 40 years.

oh-my-george-takei.gif

Jim Taylor

Forum Donor
I don't agree with all this. I think basic standards should be for young people of good hearing. We don't need specs for 60+ years old. I also don't believe you can hear -80 db distortions. The tests done on that are with a test tone at the frequencies where we are most sensitive to hearing which show -60 db. You'll not get that with music no matter any training you have. If there are any people who can do it with a test tone it will be a tiny portion of people in the world. I actually doubt there are such people until shown otherwise. I'm speaking of distortion here not SINAD. Noise will need to be -80 or -90 db or more depending upon particulars. Also there is a sweet spot for hearing distortion in humans so no younger people won't hear better because they can play louder. Our ears themselves begin to distort somewhere around 75 or 80 db or louder. Eventually around 110 or 120 db and above the air distorts at a level above minimum air SPL. Distortion unless really horrible isn't much of an issue. Noise can be, but increasingly that is not either.

Now yes for any particular thing you don't believe you can test yourself to prove it to yourself or to other people.

Just a note: Phillips originally planned on digital being 14 bit as after much study they found no reason for more in music distribution. Sony once partnered on the CD introduction insisted on 16 bit partly because 8 bit increments made more sense.