• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping D90 Balanced USB DAC Review

hmscott

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I'm not an expert, but can we take D90 and just replace AKM with ESS ? As they do in D90/MQA(AKM) ==> D90SE (ESS)
Same problem, the D90SE was re-engineered from the ground up for the change from AKM to ESS, so no to recreate that you'd simply end up with the D90SE - all over again. Swapping the AKM4499 with the ES9038Pro isn't a simple "drop-in". :)

IslandMD

I wouldn't spend a dime on any device that includes MQA. With the rise of streaming giants such as Apple Music, Amazon Music and the soon to come Spotify lossless, I think that Tidal's future looks shakey.

If Tidal dissapears, so does MQA. I don't see any other streaming service picking up MQA and it's unneeded lossy technology and associated fees.

sq225917

Major Contributor
While I largely agree, ma's on chip inclusion in ess silicon is a big deal commercially. With akm up shit creek it's actually a huge deal.

I hope ess are bleeding mqa for money to include it, not tother way round.

Harmonie

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Maybe some Hifi purist will look in the future for the non MQA, D90. I may sell my D90 then :p

RichB

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Maybe some Hifi purist will look in the future for the non MQA, D90. I may sell my D90 then :p
Drop MQA and add a trigger. :)

- Rich

Last edited:
Reactions: EdW

DeepSpace57

There is no future for MQA. Apple lossless music (24bit/196kbs) is much cheaper than lossy (arguably 24bit/96kbps) by Tidal.

TheTipRat

First post !!

Does burn in work ?

Lol

Only poop stirring..