• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Please give me an advice which DAC/AMP + headphones do you recommend for gaming, music and movies(PC ONLY)

PlayToBeat

Hello,

I'm looking to buy a new DAC/AMP and a new headphones for gaming(Call of Duty Warzone and so on), music(Spotify and iTunes) and movies(Netflix mainly).
I was thinking about getting Creative G6 or Schiit Hel as an AMP(+DAC), and HD 6XX/58X or DT 990 pro (250ohm) as a headphone.

I have no knowledge about the audiophile's world, so I would like to know what do you recommend(maybe a different AMP/DAC / headphones?)
PS. I'm using Dolby Atmos if it matters.

Thanks!

AudioStudies

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I have the HD 6XX and they are an excellent pair of cans (headphones). You don't mention your price range. Topping has a lot of offerings for dacs, amps, and combination dac/amps across a wide range of prices.

DeepFried

Seems like you've done some research. Beyerdynamic's like the DT990 are good for games like Warzone because they have a boosted treble response, this is great for picking out foot steps and other small sounds you need in competitive FPS. The G6 looks like a good choice, it measures pretty well and delivers decent power, plus has the headphone interface I assume you need.

I Think you're good. Though you may need to EQ down that treble peak for some music (to your taste).

OP
P

PlayToBeat