• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Fosi Audio BT20A Pro Amplifier Review

Rate this stereo amplifier

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 3 1.0%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 33 10.8%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther)

Votes: 180 58.8%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 90 29.4%

• Total voters

Jimi Floyd

Let me preface, I’m new to anything audio. Looking for any advice on what this capacitor’s purpose is and input on what went wrong. As you can see, there are only remnants of the original capacitor. To be fair, I was running it pretty hard at 48v. I replaced the capacitor with a same spec Nichicon and I am still not getting any sound output. Any input on where to check for other possible collateral damage is greatly appreciated.

View attachment 295835View attachment 295834
If you value your time, cheaper to buy a new one, I fear

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
If you value your time, cheaper to buy a new one, I fear
In this case it might be beneficial to determine and get a idea of what blew up and or fried. A example situation is that it might have been reverse polarized and then plugging in a new one would result in the same issue. Additionally there might be a simple fix requiring a simple inexpensive part to complete and confirm a repair.

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor