• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Fosi BT20A Pro High Temperature Issues...

John in CH

ASR Newbie here.

I have three BT20A Pro amps. One was purchased with the Fosi provided standard power supply (can't remember if it was 32v or 36v). Two were purchased with Fosi provided 48v power supplies.

When idling or running on the standard power supply the amp is just slightly warm to the touch. But when simply idling (or playing) on 48v they become so hot that I'm reluctant to touch them. I swapped the PS's around to see if the heating problem was due to the amps or due to the PS voltage. The heating issue clearly followed the 48v supplies. Based on this exercise it is clear to me that 48v causes extremely high idling temperatures. Whereas idling or running on the standard (32v or 36v) supply the case temps are just slightly above ambient.

I then noticed that 48v idling temps would drop to ambient if I simply unplugged one of the two RCA input cables. Didn't matter if it was left or right side. With both RCA's connected, idling temps would soar to "do not touch" territory. But disconnecting one RCA would cause idling temps to drop again.

I tried this on all three amps and identical behavior was observed on all of them.

My audio source is a Denon DNP-800NE Music Streamer which passes through a Fosi P1 tube preamp (Denon > P1 > BT20APro).

Same high temp behavior is observed when connected directly to the Denon (ie without the P1 in the loop: Denon > BT20APro) and persists whether the Denon or the P1 are powered on or off.