• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Master Thread: Are measurements Everything or Nothing?

Mike F

I have to agree with @BDWoody here.
Think about it, if we can not quantify something, we can not recreate it, or do anything about it.
Right. But that’s why the statement is self fulfilling, isn’t it? I’m really not sure about that I have to confess - I’m no philosopher - I’m just a humble musician who likes his hi-fi!

But here is the problem. What do I do with information that I’m 100% sure about that can’t be proven scientifically? For instance (and this is where I don my flame suit) I’m absolutely sure that I can hear the differences, for instance, between different digital coax cables. I hasten to add that I can’t hear any difference between optical cables, but between electrical digital connect cables I’m 100% sure there are audible differences. It’s possible that those differences could be measurable through a pair of speakers, but I’m not sure that the wires could be measured to be different? They are just carrying digital information after all....? ‍

BDWoody

Chief Cat Herder
Forum Donor
But if your only method for discerning a difference is measurement then this is just self fulfilling, isn’t it? i.e. There is no difference because I can’t be measured........

Why is that the only method?

We want Danny, or Darko, or Hans or you or anyone who makes claims to have heard differences where none are expected to exist, to demonstrate that with level controlled double blind AB/X testing.

No one has yet.

BDWoody

Chief Cat Herder
Forum Donor