• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Which DAC measurements do you like to see next?

maxxevv

Major Contributor
You lost me there ... how do you reconcile the two different pin counts between the TPA and the OPA ?

One is 20 pin, the other is 8 pins.

Dominique-T

Hello to all,

I am new to this fantastic forum, I am French, but I am leaving in Germany.

I recently bought an SMSL DP3, that I am using to stream music from a local USB drive, or from my NAS to an external DAC via SPDIF.

I am extremally satisfied with this DAP, which can also be used as a DAC (ESS9018).

I prefer the sound of my external DAC, but I would be interested to know more about the objective measured performances of the internal DAC. In Europe, you can get this DP3 for 250€, excellent value for the price.

http://www.smsl-audio.com/productshow.asp?id=145

Dominique

watchnerd

Grand Contributor
Then how about measuring Amir's Otari MX5050...

+1000 to more analog.

Most competently made DACs measure so good now, it becomes an exercise in vanity metrics about jitter and noise in the -100 to -120 dB range.

With the resurgence of vinyl, measuring phono stages and cartridges is an area that needs more science to counter balance the nearly entirely subjective audiophile reviews.

I'm shocked (well, maybe I shouldn't be) about the lack of measurable improvements as one ascends from $200 phono cartridges to $2000 phono cartridges, such as going from -20 dB channel separation to -25dB....for $1800.

OP
amirm

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)

watchnerd

Grand Contributor

bakker_be

What is it?

A cable with a tiny DAC chip and op amp built into the dongle?