• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Warning: suspected scam on this forum

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
A forum I used to be an admin for had doppelganger detection. I am sure this forum has it, given that there were a few cases of banned members re-registering and showing up as a different alias. They were spotted pretty quickly. You do have this feature, yes?
MAC address would be good. For the worst of the script kiddies that are untrained.

Keith_W

Major Contributor
MAC address would be good. For the worst of the script kiddies that are untrained.

As an experiment I tried to fool the doppelganger detector. I used a different computer, used a VPN, and re-registered with a different name. The doppelganger detector still detected me. I had no idea how it did that.

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
As an experiment I tried to fool the doppelganger detector. I used a different computer, used a VPN, and re-registered with a different name. The doppelganger detector still detected me. I had no idea how it did that.
Something to do w/the ISP perhaps? TCIP denotes limited info. Where could they get it from?

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
What idiot scammer uses the same username at more than one place :facepalm:
Sometimes it works though, if for example you Google the user name and see him other places.

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Sometimes it works though, if for example you Google the user name and see him other places.
Or get results like, "Aloysius from Newfoundland is lost and out of gasoline and needs some contributions at the London Drugs shopper mart on 17th St ASAP! Please contribute ASAP people...

AdamG

Helping stretch the audiophile budget…
Forum Donor