• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

WAF friendly, cost effective acoustic absorption panels

voodooless

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
So my room is quite reverberant, with a ceramic tiled floor (carpet in front of speakers) and plastered brick walls. The only plus side is the relatively high ceiling at 280 cm, as well as the fact that it's wood and plaster (90 years old original).

I did a few simulations using REW of the room (it doesn't do L-shapes.. but close enough) and found that my right sidewall and the rear wall would be best suited for some acoustic absorption panels. I thought about DIY'ing a few, but my time is a bit limited, and they should look quite nice. Also, I'm not good with fabrics ;)

So some commercial product needs to come in and save the day once again. Sadly, as soon as the word "acoustic" is mentioned, prices go up quite a bit.

So this is the room:
floorplan.png

The round green thing is an open spiral staircase.

I'd like to cover about 1.5 to 2 m^2 per wall. The only thing that I found that has an acceptable budget, is these things:

515i7Hm8JvL._AC_SX679_.jpg

Available in various colours and sizes. I'd be interested in the 100x50x11 cm version. They also have some performance stats, which a lot's of other more expensive products often miss:

51SPmH2jMiL._AC_SX679_.jpg

Sadly, no Amazon reviews yet. The question is: what other options are available with a decent price and availability in the EU?

Oh, and I want the things to work quite low down, so sub 150Hz would be very welcome :)

Last edited:

Bamboszek

I'm not sure if they offer shipping to different countries, but you may try asking them.