• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping dx7 pro high output impedance

ShiZo

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
I suggested this set up with a friend and found out later the 1/4 headphone out has a higher ohm resistance than suggested.

Is it a problem?

D

Deleted member 18309

Is it a problem?

Topping’s measurements state the single-ended output impedance is 4.7 ohms. I’m no expert, but I think it should not be an issue as long as the headphones being used have impedances above 38 ohms (estimating with damping factor of 8). Headphones with impedances below that will work but may have their frequency responses altered (for better or worse).

Members with more technical knowledge, feel free to chime in.

JohnYang1997

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Audio Company
It's stated to have higher output impedance.

D

Deleted member 18309

Do you mean Amir’s measurement of 6.2 ohms single-ended as per here? If so, then Amir has given the advice that headphones with impedance less than 60 ohms may have changes to frequency response. Which may answer OP’s question.

JohnYang1997

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Audio Company
Do you mean Amir’s measurement of 6.2 ohms single-ended as per here? If so, then Amir has given the advice that headphones with impedance less than 50 ohms may have changes to frequency response. Which may answer OP’s question.
It's 4.7 for single ended and 9.4 for balanced according to spec sheet. Depending on the headphones or earphones it may cause frequency response variation.

D

Deleted member 18309

It's 4.7 for single ended and 9.4 for balanced according to spec sheet. Depending on the headphones or earphones it may cause frequency response variation.