• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 200M/HIFIMAN EF400/Topping DX7 Pro+for T5 3rd?

xixihaha

Hi, I'm quite new to hi-fi. I recently got my Beyerdynamic T5 3rd as my first hi-fi headset and am now looking for a DAC & AMP for its connection to my PC.

I'm in Australia, and after searching the market, I found the Cambridge Audio DacMagic 200M, HIFIMAN EF400, and Topping DX7 Pro+. It's really hard to pick one.

I understand that the T5 is a 32-ohm headset, which is easy to drive, but I may purchase higher-ohm headphones in the future, such as the Sennheiser HD 6XX. Additionally, I only use my PC as the audio source, not a CD player. I have a Dragonfly Cobalt for my mobile music, and it works very well, by the way.

Please give me some suggestions for a desktop DAC & AMP combination. Thanks!

staticV3

Master Contributor
Hi @xixihaha! Welcome to ASR.

Hi, I'm quite new to hi-fi. I recently got my Beyerdynamic T5 3rd as my first hi-fi headset
I do not want to offend. But the T5 3rd is about as far away from hi-fi as you can get:
Screenshot 2024-03-12 at 22.21.54.png
Just look at that rollercoaster of a response (the red line).
You will need a lot of EQ to make that headphone faithful to the original recording.

I understand that the T5 is a 32-ohm headset, which is easy to drive, but I may purchase higher-ohm headphones in the future
The impedance alone does not make a headphone easy or hard to drive.

There are easy to drive low impedance headphones (K371) and easy to drive high impedacne headphones (HD660s).

There are also hard to drive low impedance headphones (Aeon RT) and hard to drive high impedance heapdhones (Tungsten).