• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Sub w/ built-in Room correction (ML Dynamo) - vs AVR / MiniDSP?

maesc

Hi everyone. Would appreciate some advice as I'm fairly new to home audio/theater. Been upgrading from a low end 5.1 system and the sub is next in line. Looking at a Martin Logan Dynamo 800x, and curious how good the room correction is compared to systems run from an AVR (Audyssey/Dirac) or PC/miniDSP based (Dirac/REW). Besides the Anthem ARC room correction, the ML app is a nice convenience (same with the SVS pro models).

As I understand it, the Martin Logan subs are compact but not especially well performing at their high retail price but I can get a 800x for <$500 rather than the $900 retail. I gather it's similar to the SVS sb100 pro though a bit less output than the SVS and more focused on music. Not many knowledgeable reviews on these ML/Paradigm subs with ARC so hoping someone who's heard them can weigh in.

5.1 system (70/30 movies/music). ShieldTV and AppleTV > Arcam AVR10 (w/Dirac) > Kef R3/R2C LCR and DefTech surrounds. Room is on a concrete slab, 15x12x8 ft WxDxH, semi-open to a hallway (no door to close off space). Just got the Arcam, but I don't have the original mic or a Umik-1, or similar. I like the small form factor of the 10" ML sub and the "quality of life" of remote control via the app. I'm sure I'll get a Umik-1 and may end up getting a miniDSP and try to learn REW.