• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Strange effects in Denon AVR-X4700

NickoP

Greetings!
I am new to Denon and Audyssey Multeq XT32, coming from years of different models Yamaha's receivers. I am witnessing some strange effects in my Denon RVA-X4700H based system, which were not present in any Yamaha receiver I owned in the past. Maybe some of you folks will shed light on these:
  • Applying any sound mode makes the sound louder, maybe by about 3dB, compare to direct mode. This is regardless of the input format: for example, if the input format is DD and the mode applied is DD, the effect is still there.
  • Consider a dialog going on. At certain moment, when a background music starts, the dialog volume (only!) drops down, maybe also by about 3dB, and then gradually, within 2-3 seconds, returns to its initial level. This happens only when a sound mode is applied, never in Direct. I tried turning ON/OFF different Audyssey features without any success to catch which one is causing the effect.
I guess these two effects are somehow related and that is the reason I am posting them together.

Thank you all!

M00ndancer

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
  • Applying any sound mode makes the sound louder, maybe by about 3dB, compare to direct mode. This is regardless of the input format: for example, if the input format is DD and the mode applied is DD, the effect is still there.