• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Shure SE535 Upgrade under $300?

HendersonDLK

Long Story (CONTEXT)

I’ve been an active musician for around 20 years who has slightly dabbled in Hi-Fi off and on. My introduction to IEM’s was around 2007 with the Shure E3’s until I upgraded to the Shure SE535’s around 2010. They were my go-to IEM’s for years playing shows and became my favorite IEM also for music listening because the quality was better than anything I could get under $300 (to my ears). I had tried an Etymotic (too trebly, didn’t fit right) and Bose (broke after a year) and so I just kept using the SE535’s. Around 2012 I got the original Audioquest Dragonfly and a portable Fiio amp (Sorry, it’s been years since I’ve used it so I don’t know the model #). After about 7 years one of the earbuds in the 535's stopped working correctly, I believe a driver went out in one earbud but I don’t know enough to say for sure. I was in a quick pinch, out of both necessity and cost, so I quickly grabbed an SE215 with the intention of getting another SE535 at some point. Well, here I am 7 years later, married and with a kid and that still hasn’t happened haha.

I started the search again recently and to my surprise, a lot has happened in the IEM community in the last 7 years. There’s so many options and so much information out there that I couldn’t believe it.

Long Story Short (QUESTION)