• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Seeking system upgrade advice (WiiM Amp?)

flashandy3

Hello. I would really appreciate some guidance from the ASR community on my planned low budget sound system upgrade...

Current setup
- Pro-ject Primary E turntable
- Elac Debut B5.2 bookshelf speakers
- Pioneer A-109 stereo amp
- Andover Audio Songbird streamer

Context & needs
I've been running the above for a couple of years in my 150 sq ft square living room. The amp is second hand from Ebay. Happy with speakers which are first decent pair I've ever owned - went for them due to front port as shelf they sit on is not very deep. Turntable has never sounded great (a little fuzzy) but I've put that down to the amp. I find the Songbird quite fiddly and app buggy. Cables all good/new.

I have a collection of 50 odd records (rock, folk, shoegaze, electronic, experimental, ambient) and regularly use Spotify, Soundcloud & YouTube. I like the option to play music loudly but have neighbours and young family so mainly listen at more moderate levels.

My current plan is to replace both the amp and streamer. Would also be nice to hook up my Panasonic TV for the occasional movie and video game.

Planned setup
- Pro-ject Primary E turntable
- Elac Debut B5.2 bookshelf speakers
- [New] WiiM Amp
- [New] Rega Fono Mini A2D MK2 phono preamp

I'm leaning towards the WiiM Amp because:
- great reviews (eg darko), flexibility and pricepoint vs equivalent amp/streamers like Powernode or CXN
- more power than my current amp
- apparently good app
- hdmi arc for tv