• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

question about windows audio players output engines , are they all accurate?

Mantra

Hi
I use mostly foobar2000 and sometime musicbee ,i have used aimp 4 and 5
Goldwave have the possibility to loopback record like audacity
I'm not an expert , but seems the foobar2000 ,musicbee or other windows audio player output engine is different , i'm not sure about it ,but seem some programs have a lightly more high frequencies ,in short their output is not the same
about audirvana under mac , I like a lot "even lots of crashes and bugs" but I could not record the output under mac
I have disabled all dsp and wasapi exlusive or shared

now , do these windows programs play aac or mp3 or other files with the same output without changing frequency ?
are they all accurate?
has someone record loopback to find out if they are all accurate ?

thanks
hope english is clear enough , i have used google translator

Dunring

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I use APO equalizer with the Peace front end. When installing it, click each device and uncheck the existing APO if there is a box checked and replace it with the equalizer one. Sounds great and you get system wide control over equalizer settings. In foobar I do wasapi shared like was already mentioned, and run in 9600khz since I don't have music files higher than that.

Larry_H

I just got a new PC, and it had Waves Maxx Audio installed. That was really messing with the audio. Turned off all "enhancements" and it still wasn't right. It's a resource pig too. Can't uninstall it. Still shows up. Practically malware. Disabled it from the startup menu seems to work. Using the driver from my DAC interface and it's fine for now.

DVDdoug