• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Power ratings not on RMS watts

cheapmessiah

I'm relatively new to this hobby, I play, or played, bass more or less with proper equipement but my last amp I bought was 10 years ago, and somehow I "forgot" about looking for RMS power ratings when looking for amps in headphones, which is the industry standard for musical instruments, or at least for good equipment companies.

I've been researching the hifiman he6/he6se and its amp matching suffering for users of this unit, and reading about amps like the 789 and the rest of the "high power" headphone amps sometimes not being enough came across someone asking if his amp would be enough, him having his amp rated for 5w@32ohm, because he didnt know if it was continuos power, and then it hit me, most companies arent disclosing the power ratings in RMS watts...

Is the ecosystem of this hobby so corporate ****** and user uninformed that noone is demanding for usable power ratings?

Koeitje

Major Contributor
RMS power ratings are only part of it. What you need is enough power to handle the peaks and that is where most amplifiers struggle. 50 RMS with 200W peak is preferred over 75W RMS with 125W peak in a lot use cases for example. The peaks in music ask for 10-20dB more output, you aren't going to get that as RMS power. There are not many amplifiers that have 400W RMS in 4ohm for example.

OP
cheapmessiah

cheapmessiah

I see your point, but still, if both values are necesary to understand performance, not disclosing them is not a good thing.

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor