• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Passive near-field speakers?

xhntf

I'm new to all this, still trying to learn. Please be nice :D

I'm trying to put together a good setup to replace my old crappy PC speakers. My soft budget (speakers+amp) is 250 USD. I decided I should buy passive speakers with an amp, for a few reasons:

1. upgradeability
2. input options (I want to use my PC's optical output and few active speakers seem to have optical inputs)
3. I want to place the speakers further away but have the amp's volume knob within arm's reach

So I started looking at the recommendation thread, but just about all the speakers listed call themselves either loudspeakers or bookshelf speakers. There are no near-field speakers. AIUI, loudspeakers require some distance for the sound stage to converge, and if I place them 1 meter away, there won't be enough distance to get a good sound. Do I understand that right?

What speakers would you choose if you were me?

Robh3606

I have used JBL L20T3 a six inch passive and 4208's also passives. Any decent small speaker will do but you really need a subwoofer unless you don't mind 50-60 hz bass max.

Rob :)

Joe Smith

Major Contributor
I have used many different ones for my desk setup, as I have enough width to have on short speaker stands on either side of the desk roughly at ear level, about 5' apart. Enough of a spread to get nice imaging/separation.

I like using my KEF Q 15.2 speakers for this, as the tweeter-in-woofer design works very well for nearfield. Also, they have a front bass port, which is better for my spacing than if they had a rear port that was directly firing at a room corner.