• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need some help in purchase decision for Revel speakers

tmukh

Hi! I'm new to ASR though I've been reading about amps and speakers on this forum for past few weeks. Grateful to this forum for the rich source of information. This is my first post and seeking some help.

I'm leaning towards purchasing Revel 226BE as my new front L/R speakers. I have some nice 18" subs. My question is about the center channel. The matching center C426Be is too huge (and too expensive/overkill) and I would prefer to purchase something else as the center speaker. Here are some options I can think of. Please let me know your opinion on these options. (I've made a lot of assumptions - please feel free to correct me)

Option 1: Go for the C205 center.
Advantages:
  1. Relatively inexpensive (fraction of the cost of the C426be)
Disadvantages:
  1. Not sure if the C205 will be timbre matched with the C226BE. Could there be "continuity" issues?
  2. Perhaps not enough loud? I listen to movies up to 6 db below reference. Never louder than that. Most commonly -12 db. At 10-12 feet away this speaker with 120W of max amplification and 89db sensitivity should hopefully be able to hit about 98db (not accounting for boundary gain) which is about 7 db less than 105db reference level. So on paper it looks like it will just about be able to meet my "loudness" needs. So should I still worry about this speaker not being loud enough?
  3. It is a 2-way speaker, so not sure if that really matters much for a center channel - need the dialogs to be very clear though.

Option 2: Go for the C208 center
Advantages:

1. Still inexpensive compared to C426be (less than one third the cost)