• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need help on best headphone around $500($750 CAD) / complete system around $700($1000 CAD)

Hi everyone,

I'm new to being audiophile but have been enjoying listening to music for a long time. So far I've actively and knowingly decided against going the audiophile route as it seems the destination is losing all interest in music and just arguing over different parts.

But from what I've seen so far ASR is a forum focused on evidence based advice which is sorely missed in the audiophile community.

My previous headphone
My previous headset as a Beyerdynamic DT1770 with a Fiio K3 dac/amp. I liked the build quality of the headphone but to be honest it didn't sound that / any different compared to anything I've listened to before (cheap, no name headphones you can buy that don't even have brands). I'm not sure if they are fatiguing or what but I was fine with listening to them if I recall correctely. I haven't used them close to 2 years. Been using cheap edifier speaker for desktop listening.

My current situation
Right now I'm looking for a new headphone for $500. I want to listen to music (hiphop / classical / jazz) while coding for +8 hours a day. So I prefere for it to be open back so that it's less stuffy and comfortable. Build quality is not that important since I'm gonna use it only at my desk. I've already reached the conclusion that DX3+ pro at $200 is a good enough dac / amp but I'm still open to suggestions in that regard as well.

From what I've gathered at that price range I should look at 660S, Edition XS, DT1990, elegia or AEON RT.
I'm going to EQ them BTW if that matters.