• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Massdrop THX AAA 789 ending shortly. First measurement posted.

Sythrix

I've been interested in this amp for a while and now it's near ending. I don't know if it was due to my complaining about the fact that there were none, but they've posted a measurement on the website.

I was wondering if anyone could take a look and tell me what you think. I'm not very experienced with interpreting things like this yet (especially when considering things like sample rate, FFT, and whatnot with respect to the measured results). It looks really good to my novice eyes... but again, what do I know?

I wish there were more, but at least it's something.

So... @amirm ? Anyone else care to comment? Meaningful measurement?
8Eg3ZQcnSoqFSxKmiObt_Massdrop-x-THX-AAA-789-FFT-Spectrum.jpeg

EDIT: Link to drop, Forgot to mention he told us the sample rate in a follow-up comment:

(One thing I inadvertently left out that should have been in the FFT configuration text in the graph is that bandwidth was 90k (192 kHz SR).)

Last edited:
Reactions: trl

junki

If this drop were extended to April 1st, I could hop onto it...

OP
Sythrix

Sythrix

It is and shows extremely low level of harmonic distortion.

Might have to join then... Even though the wait is til Halloween... :eek:

OP
Sythrix

Sythrix

Oh, I just noticed it is at 300 ohms. It will produce more distortion at lower impedance loads.

Assuming 5.5 volt is the output, that represents 0.1 watts of power. So not much.

So it's not quite as impressive as it first appears? I thought that might be the case. Although it probably is still pretty good. $350.... decisions, decisions.

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)