• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

KH120 II or Barefoot Footprint 03 or PSI A14 or Focal Shape?

uleikw

I'm fairly new to this but I do need a pair of monitors. My desk is pretty small and there's no room behind it so I'm probably placing them on my desks. My budget is at about $3000. The look matters and that's why I skipped Genelec. How do these three compare? Are there any other options? Another dumb question, I've found a pair of used Focal Trio 3 Be about $1000 above my budget but if it is that much better I am willing to ramp up my budget for that, should I?

bachatero

I'm in a similar position to you. With a budget of $3K, you're just out of reach of the KH 150s which would go well as a pair, while the options you mentioned would work better paired with a subwoofer which isn't in your budget. One alternative option that might satisfy you more is to get a couple of more budget monitors like the Kali LP-6v2 and then a subwoofer. For the remainder, spend that on acoustics and a calibration mic to perfect the sound. I did just that and it's like a dream!

Hope this helps :)

OP
U

uleikw

I'm in a similar position to you. With a budget of $3K, you're just out of reach of the KH 150s which would go well as a pair, while the options you mentioned would work better paired with a subwoofer which isn't in your budget. One alternative option that might satisfy you more is to get a couple of more budget monitors like the Kali LP-6v2 and then a subwoofer. For the remainder, spend that on acoustics and a calibration mic to perfect the sound. I did just that and it's like a dream!

Hope this helps :)
Thank you! May I ask what is your setup you're having? I might also need a DAC but it can wait.

test1223