• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Is bluetooth actually worse for audio than coax/toslink?

quadratique

Hi All, I am new to to hifi, about to buy my first amp and speaker. I am currently considering Arcam A5/A15/A25 with JBL HDI-1600 or Revel M16 (but the later seems less available around here). My main issue is that I would mostly listen to music from laptop. Using an A5 with bluetooth seems like a convenient idea. Many audiophiles claim bluetooth is bad. (But they also claim quality to power cables and expensive speaker cables, which have been debunked here many times.) my assumption would be that bluetooth is digital, so it shouldn't really matter how the digital signal gets to the dac. Are there any facts/measurements/science about bluetooth audio quality over coax/toslink? Or is this yet another myth? (Most of my music is CD quality.)

In other words, does it make sense to buy a USB > coax/toslink bridge like Topping D10s even if I could connect directly via bluetooth?

thanks

Last edited:

Steve Dallas

Major Contributor
Here is an objective analysis of BT CODECS. In short, the signal is degraded when using BT. If you are going to use BT, you want to use the LDAC CODEC if possible.

staticV3

Master Contributor
Bluetooth is lossy, which means it discards some of the audio data to shrink the file size to where it can be sent via the limited bandwidth of radio frequency.

It does this in the smartest way possible by only discarding what you're least likely to notice.

In practice, this means that even though Bluetooth doesn't transmit your audio 1:1, the effect of this compression is usually way smaller than other factors like room acoustics, loudspeaker performance, and of course mastering quality.