• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Innerfidelity's measurement graphs of GS-X MK II - am I reading this right?

riceFET

TL;DR below wall of text.

I'm a noob when it comes to actually reading the graphs with equipment measurements so I'm hoping some of the folks here can enlighten me.

For the past few days (well, weeks and months actually, been lurking here since November last year) I've been looking at various measurements available at different sites and found Innerfidelity's measurements of the GS-X MK II, I haven't done a super deep search so it's the only one I could find so far.

If I'm not mistaken this is basically a high end implementation of the Dynalo. Its asking price of 3000 USD certainly no laughing matter. Now I know that we're at a point where excellent products are available for much less so I compared it to the O2's measurement and found the following parts of the single page PDF to be of interest:

gs-x questions.png

The tabulated data, if I'm not mistaken, lists the clipping point as volt/watts THD+N @ 1%, which, when looking at the O2's graphs, seem nothing noteworthy. The voltage right before clipping happens below 0.01% THD+N.

A similar thing can be seen in ASR's graphs for the JDS Atom, Massdrop THX 789, Neurochrome HP-1, and the RME ADI-2 DAC, where the line goes down gently then rises steeply, indicating the device has clipped.

Not the same story for the GS-X graphs. I highlighted the areas of concern for me. We can see that distortion rises logarithmically to above 0.01% past 2 V and on 16 ohms, the steep rise happens close to 0.1%. Higher impedance loads seem to do better, but this doesn't look good to me especially for a device that costs 2.999 kilobucks.