• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

In IEMs - Is there a scientific proof that BA Timbre is a real thing? What about "Speed"?

Fraxo

This whole topic is getting annoying. I don't need people to repeat the same facts about different technologies of drivers, Planar\BA\DD etc.. But can someone actually prove that there are differences beyond FR? An actual audible proof or something that impossible to refute? Debates about this are so stupid at times...
People are going at this all the damn time, I need some science guys, I'm a sound engineer, ready to dive in as deep as necessary so bring it on if you have it and I'll nerd along the ride!

JanesJr1

Addicted to Fun and Learning
This whole topic is getting annoying. I don't need people to repeat the same facts about different technologies of drivers, Planar\BA\DD etc.. But can someone actually prove that there are differences beyond FR? An actual audible proof or something that impossible to refute? Debates about this are so stupid at times...
People are going at this all the damn time, I need some science guys, I'm a sound engineer, ready to dive in as deep as necessary so bring it on if you have it and I'll nerd along the ride!
I don't have the answer, but I've gone down this rabbit hole a couple of times, and remain confused. Is there something real and measurable related to "detail", "speed", "note decay", and "settling time" with respect to BA's. I'm tentatively convinced that "speed" may be entirely captured by FR + power; but there's more subjective fuzz here, that I'd like to understand.

majingotan

Major Contributor
Forum Donor