• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Humming sound from my audio system

Rosenild

Dear all.

I have recently installed a phono amplifier (Pro-Ject Tube Box S2) using my new MC cartridge (Denon 103R). I use a Garrard 401 turntable with a SME 3012. It is amplified by a Sansui AU9500 integrated amplifier. Using the Pro-Ject manual and searching on the internet, I have installed the phono amplifier with 60 gain and 470 ohms.

The sound is great, but I think there are a few problems that needs to be raised.

First of all it seems after playing a record, a humming sound begins to appear. I tried to find the problem, but I am no technical expert. Therefore I would be delighted if you could please comment on the situation.

- There are no humming sounds when I play digitally, that is without the turntable.
- There are no humming sounds when I play the records without the phono amplifier, however I need to turn the volume up dramatically.
- If I turn off my turntable and my phono amplifier is connected, the humming is present but more discreet.
- If I turn off my turntable and my phono amplifier, the humming sound is not present at all.

Additonal actions/thoughts:

- I have installed the phono amplifier at 100 ohms, but after a while the humming reappear.
- I have tried to reconnect the ground wire. It is an old ground wire and the copper seems teared and fragile. Perhaps that is the problem?
- I have a simple power rail. Not sure if that has anything to do with this specific situation. Would it be better to invest in a good power rail?