• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How Important is Sheer Amplifier Power?

jasonq997

Forum Donor
I am a novice when it comes to technical audio questions. This is not my field of study. I am just a fan/enthusiast. Most of the following commentary is also completely subjective.

With that disclaimer I want to ask the following question. Is there something about brute force amplifier power that makes things sound better than the average 30-100 watt per channel class AB amp/receiver, regardless of "SINAD" measurements?

I have a Crown XLS 1502 amplifier, and in fact it is the exact amplifier that I sent to @amir to review (click on the link). I have various mainstream and old-school amps and receivers (Yamahas, Onkyos, old Adcoms). Certain speakers only perform well when I hook up the very powerful Crown amp and the others perform better than with it than with other amps. Since these are all middling amps from a noise and distortion perspective what is it about the vastly more powerful Crown amp that just makes everything sound better? Clean and more effortless... The test speakers have all been bookshelf (stand mount) speakers. Sets ranging from $200-$500 from JBL, Infinity, Energy, Philharmonic Audio and ELAC.

Is more power a more critical feature than elite noise and distortion measurements when it comes to driving stereo speakers? What is the best way to think about this?

Ivanovich

Forum Donor
I’d say it depends a lot in the speakers, especially their efficiency. If they are inefficient they need more power to play at the same volume. For highly dynamic music, the instantaneous peak power demand will be higher too.

mhardy6647

Grand Contributor
It all depends on the nature of the load. :cool: