• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Focal speakers vs active monitors

mrmojo

I went to a shop and really liked listening to the focal shape 40. Up to that point I hadn't even heard of focal before, but I really like the way the shape 40 sounds. However, the shape 40 is an active monitor and as far as I'm aware is really meant for music production, rather than listening. Should I bother looking sat the focal speakers (rather than monitors) and maybe get a focal speaker instead? I am not a music producer/mixed - just want to enjoy my tunes.

JeremyFife

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Hi,
Music is just music - nothing different for pro Vs home.
Typically, studio monitors have a flat frequency response whereas some home speakers add 'colour' by boosting bass or HF to make them sound 'nice'.
However, that boost is a flaw in speaker design and it's what we use EQ for to fix it!
Neutral (flat) speakers plus EQ for your listening position will give you the best sound (best music) - doesn't matter if that's active or passive.
The distinction is artificial, don't worry about it.

Purité Audio

Master Contributor
Industry Insider
Barrowmaster
Forum Donor
A good speaker is a good speaker, I would check the measurements of each if they are available before actual purchase.
Keith

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Closest I could find:

Not bad, but not sure how comparable it is to the 40.

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
The difference between pro gear and home gear is the difference of utility versus fashion. If you want function, then choose pro gear. If you want appearance, fancy veneers, structured style and status points, then choose home gear.

Jim