• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need advice for 3.1 system

Quarden

Hello audio enthusiasts,

I am a complete noob who is in the process of building a 3.1 home theatre system for my room and I am looking for some guidance on speaker selection. I've narrowed down my options of the pair of bookshelf speakers and their respective centre speakers to three choices. However, I am struggling to make a final decision. To provide you better insights, the system will be used for watching movies and stereo music listening and the AVR will be connected to LG C2 TV via eARC. I enjoy a variety of music genres, with a particular fondness for trance music with female vocals, EDM, and hip hop. I would greatly appreciate your recommendations on choosing the optimal option for my setup or any other alternatives you find worth considering. Additionally, I'm open to suggestions for a subwoofer that complements these speakers.

Thank you in advance for your expertise and assistance :)

Option 1:
2x Focal Theva No1: 578€
Focal Theva Center: 319€

Option 2:
2x Focal Aria 906: 600€
Focal Aria CC900: 300€

Option 3:
2x Triangle Esprit Comete EZ - 498€
Triangle Vocal Series EZ : 300€

Option 4:
2x Monitor Audio Silver 100 7G - 750€

The only speakers I had chance to audition at a hi-fi shop, and I did not need to activate the demo subwoofer. However, considering the shop's room size was at most 10m2, I am curious about how they would sound in my room without a subwoofer.

AVR: Denon AVC-x3800h

ht.png

vicenzo_del_paris

Forum Donor
Hi,

If options really had to be limited to the 4 you've mentioned, I would go for option 2:
- Aria lineup has proven to measure well (amir, soundstage, ...) and has been around for years