• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Feedback to first audio setup - Q Acoustics M20

Amplifly

Hello,

I'm fairly new to the audiophile hobby and thought about starting with following setup:
  • Q Acoustics M20 Active Speakers (Sadly no HDMI ARC and only 1x Toslink)
  • Tindie Toslink Switch (Required since 2x Toslink inputs needed for TV and Chromecast Audio):
The Toslink switch can be purchased with an in-built Sabre ES9023DAC, I'm not sure if this would bring any benefit.

Could someone rate this setup and tell me if this is a good fit?
Would you recommend to purchase the Tindie switch with or without the Sabre DAC?

Thanks so much, really excited about your feedback!

staticV3

Master Contributor
Hi @Amplifly! Welcome to ASR.

From what I can tell, this is the only measurement we have of the M20:
Q-Acoustics-M20-HD-Review-4.jpeg
Source

This is really not enough to judge the speaker's quality.

I suspect that you may be able to get more bang for your buck with an external DAC and a pair of active studio monitors.

Are you looking for a particularly compact set of speakers? If so, what are your size constraints? And which country are you in?

The DAC inside the Tindie switch only has a purpose if you use the switch's analog output.
If you just want to do Toslink in->Toslink out, then the DAC is completely useless.

OP
A

Amplifly

Hi @staticV3, thanks so much for the warm welcome and a happy new year!

I'm looking for bookshelf speakers of any size for my bedroom and thought about a price between 500-1000€.
Main focus is a good audio quality and the option to connect the speakers to my TV and a streaming device (Like Chromecast Audio).
The speakers should be purchasable in germany.