• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Dirac Mac Mini Help

RickyC34

Hello all. I recently purchased a Mac mini to run two separate dac's running Dirac live bass control. I'm upgrading from a DDRC-24 and currently use that as one of my dac's along with the Schiit Modious.

I'm new to Mac but not Dirac. Current system 2.2 Mac Mini, DLBC, Schiit Modious( next upgrade), Sub dac currently Mini Dsp DDRC (topping d10s coming tomorrow), 2 x RSL speedwoofer MK II, Buchardt S400 Mk II. I would have gone the Topping DM 7 route but my current gear is not balanced.

I have combined the two dac's into an aggregate device and have run into some problems with playback. When playing back audio only audio from one Dac is playing. What's odd is if I start Dirac's volume calibration all 4 outputs work. Take some measurements, hit save, playback music, and the Subs are off. Switched the RCA's' and the speakers were off. Ok, so both dac's are working. I got digging on this thread and others for a solution but have not had any luck.

I saw that some users had luck with the loopback software so figured I would try that. At this point, if I had to pay $100 more to get things rolling I was willing. I created a 4-channel pass-thru device, created output decided 1 & 2 and 3 & 4, added my 2 dac's as monitors, and linked channels accordingly. Pass-thru 1 / C 1 / Ch 1 Dac 1
2 / Ch 2 / Ch 2 Dac 1
3/ Ch 3 / Ch 1 Dac 2
4 / Ch 4 / Ch 2 Dac 2
Customer channel config - I have selected a custom configuration. Stereo then added two subwoofers.

Audio Settings - Output loopback is selected with each of the 4 channels selected.