• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DDC + miniDSP: Does it make sense?

yllanos

I have been thinking about making changes to my stereo setup.

I have been interested in getting a miniDSP Studio (the digital-only one) and to try an R2R DAC since I have never tried that kind of sound before.

Anyway, when researching about R2R DACs, I got to Denafrips offerings (Ares II 12th-1) but I also discovered Iris DDC.

So a possible option would be to connect my system like this:

Streamer (USB out) -->> Denafrips Iris (AES-EBU Out) -->> miniDSP Studio (AES-EBU Out) -->> Denafrips Ares II 12th-1 (XLR out) -->> Amp -->> Speakers

But it got me wondering: does the DDC even makes sense in this setup? Wouldn't I be somehow... "polluting" the signal by going through the miniDSP into the DAC?

Connecting the Iris DDC right before the DAC is not possible as MiniDSP Studio has no USB out (only in).

All comments are welcome.

Many thanks.

RandomEar

In the suggested signal chain, the Iris looks useless to me. It's just a signal converter from USB to AES-EBU, but the miniDSP Studio also has a USB input, so why convert twice? It should make absolutely no difference to sound quality, but might lead to obscure compatibility problems or add a ground loop.

Depending on what DAC you currently use, I wouldn't expect any audible change at all by switching to the Ares II. It is certainly capable for an R2R device, but hundreds of somewhat modern DAC models are technically equal or better (but will still sound the same). The miniDSP on the other hand can make a big difference to your listening experience if you calibrate and use Dirac. It is also a streamer itself, so your old streamer might technically become obsolete, too.

OP