• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Configuration Question(s)

lamont814

Hello,
I'm a recently retired computer engineer who will be building a home computer system with a new M3 Imac. I've been researching heavily for a few weeks and think I'm close to a final configuration. I've been out of the audio / video loop for 20 years and need some informed help please.
My planned configuration is a follows :
1. M3 Imac computer (supports Apple Lossless and am perfectly happy with 24bit / 48K resolution). Connection between the Mac and DAC will be USB.
2. Topping A90 paired to a D90 DAC with XLR cables. Meze Elite headphones for the A90 via mini XLR to 4 pin XLR cable.
3. Pair of Genelec 8330A powered speakers connected to the A90 via XLR.
4. CyberPower CP15000PFCLCD 1500VA / 1000W pure sine wave UPS. I'll have room to grow if needed.
This is a near field setup on a large computer desk. I can adjust the volume using the knob on the A90. Is this acceptable or should I turn up the volume on the A90 and use the D90 remote for volume control ? I won't know if I can control the DAC via the Mac until I get it all set up. I'm curious as to which levels I should set on each device to get a safe and noise free system.
Any suggestions, corrections or warnings would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks -Bob

twsecrest

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Usually it considered best to max out the volume controls on the computer and the DAC and use the amplifier to control volume.
To send as strong a signal as possible, without adding noise to the signal.
So if maxing out the volume control (100%) causes noise, than maybe turn the volume control to let's say 75% (computer or DAC).