• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Best value DAC for Sennheiser HD 650?

I saw a couple other related posts but didn't get much answer... So here it goes.
Dear audio gods, I'm new to this and my headphones were trashed so I bought some HD 650s after looking online a lot for some decent entry point headphones. As a simpleton I don't need a 0.1% change in audio that I won't even notice. I'm just looking for a DAC around $100-150 or less, and if you think I don't even need one, just tell me. I'm going to hook it up to a predator laptop so yeah. I just want to listen to music and it sounds good. At first I was looking at Audioquest's Dragonfly USB DACs but after seeing the comparisons on this forum (which were really in-depth and impressive) I feel they are overpriced?

StigErik

Forum Donor
Topping DX1. It’s around 100$. I have one that I use with my HD600’s. Absolutely love it.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
You seem to be looking for a DAC/headphone amp or dongle with headphone out.
Depending on how loud you want to go and whether or not you want to EQ the bass up to Harman levels (at loud levels) you should steer your purchase to.

OP
W
You seem to be looking for a DAC/headphone amp or dongle with headphone out.
Depending on how loud you want to go and whether or not you want to EQ the bass up to Harman levels (at loud levels) you should steer your purchase to.
I would just listen to music normally with little or no change, not super loud or equalized a lot. So you're saying I don't need a DAC/amp or dongle?

StigErik

Forum Donor
If your laptop has got a headphone output, you could use that of course.

OP
W
If your laptop has got a headphone output, you could use that of course.