• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Any lovers of ambient?

TimF

Forum Donor
Wow. That INOYAMLAND number I started listening to it just after the 6:00 p.m. news and just realized it's 11:25 p.m. and I must have played it over and over 30 times. Hm. The neighbor yellow "Turn that thing off!" snapped me out of it. I gotta get that album.

Philbo King

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I like Hearts of Space, though the introduction talk gets a little lengthy sometimes. Good variety of ambient.

Owl

I've been listening to the program, "Hearts of space" for over 40 years now. Steven Hill puts together a great weekly program.

Axo1989

Major Contributor
Cross-posting this one from Electronica thread. Certainly works as ambient.

New from Alva Noto: HYbr:ID II

https://soundcloud.com/alvanoto%2Fsets%2Fhybr-id-ii
No free list for this one, I'm afraid. But a couple of tracks from it on YT with graphical score, etc:

Electronic is the best music.

pderousse

I've been really digging into ambient for the past year. I'm not entirely sure what the reason is. Just seemed like one day I got an urge to just listen to sound instead of song. I think part of it is I just seemed to have had enough of there being a narrative bolted on top of the music - which is invariably the case when there's lyrics even if they are nonsense lyrics. Also after about 40 years of pretty intense music fandom I finally got a bit tired of the verse/chorus/verse/chorus/bridge/chorus yadda yadda routine. I've gotten into Aphex Twin and Biosphere and Eno. Love Boards of Canada although they aren't exactly ambient I suppose.