• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Analog Subwoofer Phase Control - How?

ocinn

Hi there,

I am not an electronics expert by any means, but something has been bugging me for a few years now. I have owned many powered subwoofers that have a fully variable 0-180deg phase knob (ex: Jamo E6SUB)

I’ve found schematics for RF phase shifters but from what I’ve read it’s exceedingly more difficult at lower (audible) frequencies.

I was curious (in intermediate-level-terms) as to how this is implemented in circuitry, and if it is truely a phase (frequency dependent) shift or a fixed (frequency independent) delay translated to “approx” phase at the crossover frequency, (bucket brigade device, digital chip?)

This also brings up the question of how phase inverting switches work on single ended input subwoofers, im assuming converted to differential and then flipped, and then sent to the amp?

KSTR

Major Contributor
Phase control in analog subwoofers typically consists of a polarity switch and a phase-shifter circuit, comprising two simple 1st-order active allpass filters whose corner frequency is adjusted. The allpass filter allows for phase shift at the crossover frequency from (close to) zero degrees to (more than) 180 degrees, and the polarity flip then makes the whole 0..360 (or +-180) degree span available.

But, phase control is always a quirky compromise and often does not help for proper integration because of the additional delay. You can easily end up with seemingly matching phases but the subwoofer lagging behind by one full 360 degree cycle (or more when the sub is farther away from the listening position than the main speakers).