• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Advice on Audiophilia Nervosa w DDRC24

Should I upgrade

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 6 75.0%
  • Just wanna see the responses

Votes: 2 25.0%

• Total voters

HomeStereo

Forum Donor
Hello everyone,

I’m a relative beginner in the HiFi space and I had a question about upgrading my DDRC-24 w an external DAC like the Motu M4 (which is the max for my budget at the moment).

Looking through the charts and measurement data I’m still struggling to answer the canonical question - will an external DAC actually audibly improve my sound quality over the DDRC-24?

Yes the Motu M4 measures better but is the extra 300 bucks going to change my listening experience?

Rednaxela

Major Contributor
What makes you feel your DDRC-24 is currently the sound quality bottleneck in your system?

mdsimon2

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Depends on what you mean by better sound quality.

The M4 has lower noise than the DDRC-24, so if you have audible noise issues it may help. Although, the M4 is not exceptionally low noise in the grand scheme of things.

It also has higher output voltage, so may give you more flexibility in terms of output, especially after DSP.

And of course, it has balanced outputs so if you have ground loops that will help.

Other than that, I don't see a reason for audible differences.

Michael

OP
H

HomeStereo

Forum Donor
I guess what I’m struggling w is muddy mids and a lack of clarity in the output - again ima beginner so I may be conflating 2 issues. I was under the impression that a higher resolution DAC w lower distortion may lead to better signal output in the mid frequency range

OP
H

HomeStereo

Forum Donor