• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

A room correction case

serial

Hi,

I'm a newbie in the acoustics world, just started discovering everything and experimenting. For now, I have Denon 3800 with Audyssey XT32 and 2 tower speakers. Central speaker and a subwoofer are on the way, so I will redo the experiments below when they arrive. Also ordered UMIK-1 for REW and Dirac.

I have an irregularly shaped room (see the picture) and the following measurement taken with the Audyssey app, visualized in Ratbuddyssey (don't have the mic for REW yet). I took the measurement several times, so it should be correct. It shows a huge spike around 70 Hz and sever decline after 2kHz. I tried to move speakers out of the corners, tried several positions with no real difference until I move them completely out of the niche. The 2nd picture shows the measurement with the speaker placed at the room center, and it looks fine, I think.

I hope the room can be corrected with either Audyssey or Dirac, but what else can / should be done (some kind of room treatment, I guess) to help them? Because the 1st measurement looks pretty bad. Placing speakers not in the niche is the last option I would try, only if the room cannot be corrected.

Thanks.

The room:

1704824310774.png

Speakers in the niche, before correction:
1704824157845.png

Speakers out of the niche, before correction:
1704824221870.png

Daverz

Major Contributor
The decline after 1 kHz is to be expected and looks very good as far as linearity, actually.

DWPress

Major Contributor
Forum Donor