• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Vintage speakers that hold up

Waxx

Major Contributor
Glad to have started such a fun conversation!

I remember that about 20 years ago, as a poor student, I got to visit some audiophile's attic listening room.
He had a pair of old Altec-Lansing horn loaded speakers, unreasonably large for the room or the listening distance. However, when he pressed "play", it's as if the two monstrosities had just vanished and a singer appeared in front of me. I don't know how I would have judged it today, but back then my jaw dropped.
I tried to avoid to end up with those. Those designs are also very old, more 1950's - 1960's style. But an A7 with dsp eq and crossover can sound wonderfull close to modern designs.

I know a guy with a setup that is Altec A7 based (416 woofer, 288 compression driver in a 1505 horn), that use JBL 2405 slot tweeters as supertweeters and a few JBL 5628 theater subwoofers with it. It's powered with Bryston amps and a Xilica DSP, and that is probally one of the best speaker setups i heared (needs a big space altough). But i would not call that a hifi setup for an average living room (not even a big American one). That guy's living room is more of a ballroom's size... And i'm not talking about the price yet.

restorer-john

Grand Contributor
I wouldn't know where to start, there's just so many vintage speakers to choose from. Thing is, finding them in the condition you want and being able to listen to them is the problem.

I'd jump on a plane and go to HiFiDo in Japan!

1709071182028.png

How about some nice Lux monos to go with the speakers?

Or an unusual Nagra:

Last edited:

Mikig