• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Subjectivists EVERYWHERE!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

audio2design

Major Contributor
As a physicist I would caution objectivists who just focus on numbers that it is the psychoacoustic theory that is the important component of being objective.

While some elements of psychoacoustics are well supported others are not.

Take this often used diagram from F Toole's book. 11 subjects is hardly statistically sound.
View attachment 145724

Regards Andrew

Not only is 11 not statistical but the whole concept of how this curve was generated is flawed as the test signal was not a controlled source, but was music, music whose spectral content is heavily influenced by those who generate it (typically older with age/exposure induced losses), the situation in which they generated it (primarily near field, with some other test locations), and the volume they used, not to mention personal preferences, etc. This curve is as much a test of music as it is of speakers.

Geert

Major Contributor
That sentiment has been expressed here before and I certainly understand the motivation behind it.o However, my issue is: what do we have to replace the terms with?
Rational and feeling.

What we call audophile subjectivists are usually people who's behaviour is mainly driven by feelings. You want them to buy your story? First connect emotionally and entertain or inspire them.

Don't mention 'facts' or 'logic'. For them these are just statements that do or don't make them feel good, and in the latter case they won't buy it. Don't expect them to dive into technical details, that might require an effort that won't make them feel good.